The First Days of Summer Break #sol22

Last Thursday was the final day with students for the 2021-2022 school year. Our last workday was on Friday, so I’ve now had a few days of vacation. First, I caught up on some house cleaning over the weekend. I love the sight of those neat lines in the freshly vacuumed carpets and newly dusted tables. However, it wasn’t all work and no play. I curled up in my favorite chair with a book (I’ve been reading David Rosenfelt’s mysteries) and enjoyed the coolness of the air conditioning, a glass of iced tea, and Skinny Pop popcorn (I can’t stop eating that stuff!). I watched the NASCAR race, even though the drivers I like all crashed out. I took naps even though I slept in late. We had a family dinner (Mom made brownies!) and took a short ride. We started watching the series about Theodore Roosevelt on The History Channel. I’ve done a lot of writing, too! Today, I shopped for a new laptop and found what I wanted after having a nice, relaxing lunch with my Mom. Then, back at home, I’m watching the second part of the Theodore Roosevelt series and I’m thinking about the bag of Skinny Pop in the pantry. It’s been a busy few days!

3 thoughts on “The First Days of Summer Break #sol22

  1. NYOCW

    I am glad you have experienced your first days of vacation. Our first days are playing out similarly. I am making little pockets of order and cleanliness and celebrating the calm and happiness I feel seeing a vacuumed carpet. Ha! The first days of summer (for me) are full of unwinding and thawing out. How is the Roosevelt series?

    Like

    Reply
  2. Stacey Shubitz

    Sounds like the first few days of summer vacation are treating you well.
    BTW: If you like Skinny Pop, then you might also want to try Pop Corners. Those are delicious too!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment