Laughable #sol18

img_0372-3

If you’re not familiar with teachwrite.org or the #DWHabit word of the day, I highly recommend checking this out.  Today’s word is laughable and I decided to use it for my post today.

When I read today’s word, I was immediately transported back to the high school class that convinced me for a long time that my dream of being a writer was laughable.  That one class diminished years of positive experiences as a writer.  From the time I first put pencil to paper until that one class, I was a writer.  I filled notebook after notebook with stories and ideas and thoughts.  I enjoyed any opportunity to use my imagination to create stories.  I thrived in classrooms that provided so many options for writing.  My family, my teachers, and my closest friends encouraged me.  I remember one of my best friends in middle school proudly proclaiming that I’d written a book (and I wonder where that “book” is now).  But that all changed during one class in high school.  I wasn’t encouraged and the words that I put on paper weren’t appreciated or even really acknowledged.  The things that I wanted to write about were treated as unimportant.  While in hindsight, I cringe at some of my pieces of writing, I also realize that’s part of the process of being a writer.  They didn’t have to love what I wrote, but they didn’t need to make me feel inferior either.

It took a long time for me to gather my courage and write again.  I missed out on years of writing because of that one class.  I missed out on so many opportunities because I allowed someone else dictate whether or not I was a writer.  I allowed someone else to make me feel as though my words didn’t matter.

Now, instead of thinking that it’s laughable that I’m a writer, I own being a writer.  My words and my voice are important.  Being a writer is an essential part of who I am and I won’t forget that.

8 thoughts on “Laughable #sol18

  1. Jen Driggers

    I had a similar experience in school and it’s why I never ever considered myself a writer. I think it may have even started before high school. I’m so glad you own being a writer now! Also, love the #DWHabit word of the day 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. Amy Rudd

    I am also glad you own being a writer. I feel the same. Somewhere between sentence diagrams and formula writing-my voice was lost…I have not yet tried the #DWHabit word of the day. I want to try it. I put in my planner as an idea for future access.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply
  3. karenszymusiak

    I am glad you regained your writing voice. It’s so unfortunate to hear about experiences like yours. So happy you are returning to writing.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  4. theapplesinmyorchard

    I am so glad you returned to writing and now own your craft! You are a writer! It is so discouraging when what you described happens to students. Something similar has happened to two of my boys….one experienced this with writing. He actually wrote a 9 chapter book on the solar system in first grade! Second and third grade saw him continuing to write his own stories, as well as illustrations. However, in fourth grade, the teacher did not challenge or encourage his talents. Still, to this day as a 10th grader, he is not all that interested in language arts. It is so sad when this happens. Glad you did not let the experience permanently alter your course.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

Leave a comment