Thank you-#sol17

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Today has been my day of trying out several different ideas for slices with little success.  I’ve started several slices, only to leave them in “Draft” status.  I love the Word Mover poetry app that’s available from Read Write Think.org, and played around with creating several poems.  But they’re not ready to be published (yet).  For every ten words that I wrote, I felt as though I deleted at least six of them.  I was starting to get a little grumpy, so I realized that I needed to change my attitude.  I decided to acknowledge the people and things who’ve enriched my day.

Thank you…to the nice lady at Burger King who provided me with this morning’s sweet tea.  I don’t feel as though I’m able to function properly without it!

Thank you…to iTunes for the music that’s currently playing and allowing me to relax.  There are times when you just need to stop and listen to the music playing.

Thank you…to the ladies in the cafeteria who made the delicious macaroni and cheese that I enjoyed with my lunch today.  I look forward to macaroni and cheese days:)

Thank you…to my third grade girls who wrote me the sweetest notes! They made my day!

Thank you…to my printer for having just enough ink for me to print out my nine weeks reports.  The copy machine in the workroom was being stubborn for most of the day, so I couldn’t send my reports to it for printing and with my printer is showing low ink levels, I was worried that I wouldn’t get them printed today.

Thank you…PaperMate for making Ink Joy gel pens.  As I observed students today, I appreciated having my new favorite pen handy.  I really need to go buy a bulk of these.

Finally, thank you…to the #SOL17 community for inspiring me every day.  Being a part of this community means so much to me!

 

18 thoughts on “Thank you-#sol17

  1. elsie

    I, too, thought perhaps you were channeling Jimmy Fallon’s thank you notes. I love the mac and cheese at school! I usually check school’s menus, and I’m never there on mac and cheese day. It’s always good to stop and think about the small joys that we take for grant it.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. theapplesinmyorchard

    This community has been so inspiring, including you! I have not had any problems writing daily and, in fact, am enjoying it. I wrote some poems today too – with my third grade writer’s circle. I love teaching poetry! Love your thank you notes! Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Leigh Anne

    Sometimes we all need an attitude adjustment and a thank you can certainly do the trick! I just bought my first Ink Joy pens (after so many teachers were bringing them to my favorites party) and I LOVE them! I only bought a package of four but definitely going back for a multi-pack!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Stacey Shubitz

    One of my daughter’s favorite books is The Thank You Book by Mo Willems. Something about this post reminded me of that Elephant & Piggie book. It’s a great format for a slice. It captures your gratitude for what’s going well in your corner of the world beautifully!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a comment