I should be studying, but…#sol23

I’m preparing to take the KPEERI exam as a part of the process for being certified through the International Dyslexia Association and the Center For Effective Reading Instruction. I completed my practicum and the exam is the next step. So, for today’s post, I thought about all of the things that I should be doing to prepare and all of the ways I allowed myself to be distracted.

I should be studying, but…I need to wash a load of towels.

I should be studying, but…I went to check to see if the deer from last night returned to the backyard. On a side note, one of the deer seemed injured and I hope that she’s okay.

I should be studying, but I needed to brew some tea.

I should be studying, but I wanted something sweet.

I should be studying, but I read an article that Mike sent me about the UVa basketball team and predictions for next season’s team.

I should be studying, but I needed to hang up some clothes in the closet.

I should be studying, but I sent Mom a selfie that showed me reviewing my notes. Note: Mom told me to get back to my work:)

I should be studying, but Jeopardy is on and a lady from Christiansburg is on tonight.

I should be studying, but I needed a break. The evening’s still young!

3 thoughts on “I should be studying, but…#sol23

  1. dgSciGuy

    I love the repetition in this piece and the “realness” of all the things we do to avoid the actual “thing.” Also, I can hear the voices of my students in this piece.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Shawnda Fukano

    I love this post because I’ve been doing the same thing with my grad school work since the weather has been so nice this week! It’s hard to study after a full day of work when you just want to relax. I bet you’ll be more productive after taking a break anyway. Good luck with the exam!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment