All About That Font #sol18

I have to use the Times New Roman font or a similar font for most of my writing, particularly my academic writing.  However, there are situations when I compose a piece that Times New Roman just doesn’t work for me.  Often, I prefer to choose a different font when drafting a piece of writing, particularly when the words aren’t flowing.  For some reason, changing the font seems to give me some freedom, although I really can’t explain why this makes a difference.  Maybe the “fun” fonts make the process of getting words onto the page a little less intimidating.  Maybe the feeling of informality makes me feel less pressured about writing.

I love all of the fonts available in Google Docs, which is where I do a lot of my drafting.  I especially appreciate the names of many of the fonts such as Gloria Hallelujah, Covered By Your Grace, Crafty Girls, and Homemade Apple.  I wonder why particular names were chosen for each font.  Why did the creators of the fonts choose these names? What’s the story?

3 thoughts on “All About That Font #sol18

  1. Connie Lindsey

    We are font sisters! I used the same technique during March for the SOLSC. I found that if I opened a Word doc and set the font to Segoe print, the words flowed more easily. Maybe because it looks a little like handwriting? I never thought to wonder about the names, though. Now, however, I am wondering. Think I’ll google “segoe” and see what I find. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a comment