The long way-#sol17

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

I often find myself on the interstate because it’s the quickest way to get from point A to point B.  I can cruise along at 70 miles per hour on the interstate, which is preferable when I need to arrive at a destination within a certain time.  However, sometimes change is good.  On Sunday, when I left home to travel to the Children’s Literature Conference at Shenandoah University, I decided to skip the interstate in favor of a different route.  While this route took a bit longer, it was much more scenic and relaxing.  I cruised through small towns, passed a variety of historic sites, and enjoyed the beautiful scenery of the Shenandoah Valley.  Sometimes, I had to slow to 30 miles per hour and I was occasionally stuck behind slow-moving traffic, but I avoided the stress that typically occurs when traveling on Interstate 81.  I arrived in Winchester relaxed and ready for a great week of learning.  I enjoyed the trip so much that when it’s time to leave on Friday, I think that I’ll just cruise on down Route 11 again.

3 thoughts on “The long way-#sol17

  1. Jen Driggers

    This post makes me think of my dad. He was always a fan of the scenic route. Whenever we’d go somewhere, he’d find the scenic way and take it even if only for a little bit. Now my brother does the same thing. It takes longer but can be more enjoyable. I’m so glad I read this tonight.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a comment