Exploring poetry #sol17

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

I read I Haiku You by Betsy Snyder for #bookaday and it inspired me to play around with haiku.  I’ve written a few haiku poems before and wanted to explore this format a little further today.

 

A new notebook waits

Endless possibilities

What to write today?

 

Family photos

in albums and on the walls

Cherished memories

 

Reading late at night

Just a few more pages left

Must finish the book

 

A glass of sweet tea

With a good book in my hand

Such a perfect day

 

Dust on the treadmill

The exercise bike is still

Many books to read

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Exploring poetry #sol17

  1. Jen Driggers

    Love these! I’ve kind of forgotten about haikus. Thanks for the reminder. I can totally relate to the reading late at night one. I’ve stayed up far too late many times because I just “had to finish” the book.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Denise Krebs

    It looks like you’ve got a lot of reading and writing on your mind. The last haiku is my favorite! Like Jennifer says, the treadmill and bike can wait. Books are a nice distraction. I’m enjoying staying inside away from the heat, and that gives me lots of time for reading and writing this summer!

    Like you, I’m excited for Teachers Write this month.

    Warmly,
    Denise

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

