My desk-#sol15

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

I really don’t need a desk in my classroom.  I can’t remember the last time that I sat down at my desk to do anything except sift through the piles of papers and folders and books and all sorts of stuff and I don’t even keep a chair there.  Instead, my desk has become a catch-all—a repository for things that I’m either too busy to find a home for or things that I don’t use on a daily basis and don’t need to keep easily accessible.  Basically, my desk is just a place for me to pile up stuff.  If I didn’t have the desk, then I would be forced to find places to put all of the stuff that’s just hanging out on my desk.

I’ve toyed with the idea of clearing off the desk and having it taken to storage, but every time that I think about asking the custodian to help me move it out, I start to question that decision.  What if I suddenly decide that I need to work at my desk? There’s a nice view of the courtyard and fish pond that I’m missing by not using my desk.  With spring finally here, the courtyard will soon have blooming flowers to enjoy.  But, then, that might be a little too distracting.  I might sit and stare out of the window instead of getting work done.  Hmmm…another strike against keeping the desk.  I don’t know why I’m dragging my feet on this decision!

4 thoughts on “My desk-#sol15

  1. elsie

    Many who discard the desk, love it. It gives more floor space for kids and perhaps book cases. You will have to decide, what is the purpose and is it important?

    Like

    Reply
  2. Pat

    It’s a big change. I’d bet if you change your mind and find you really need it, the custodian would bring it back. You might give it a try the last quarter

    Like

    Reply
  3. kdoele

    You could find a comfortable old chair for reading to replace the desk you are not using. It sounds like it might be a wonderful place to read. Everyone could share it and share the view too.

    Like

    Reply
  4. C.Crouch

    I’m glad I am not the only one who struggles with such decisions…I say you will never know until you try it and you can always get your desk back (right?) if you want to …Just do it! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment