Post #600 #sol23

This is my 600th blog post. I can’t believe that I’ve written 600 posts! When I started this blog in 2015, my goal was to participate in the Slice of Life challenge that year and I was so proud of myself for meeting that goal. I remember that I was halfway through a statistics course for my doctorate and slicing was a great stress reliever!

As I reflected on 600 posts, I thought about how much has changed since I published my first draft. I finished my doctorate. I lost both of my precious grandparents after long illnesses. I discovered the joy and gift of second chances with Mike. I traveled to places like St. Louis and Austin. I presented at ILA conferences. Mike and I bought a house. I published a few pieces of my professional writing. We’ve attended UVa basketball and baseball games.

But there are some important things that haven’t changed over those 600 posts. My Mom is one of my biggest supporters and her love and guidance are such a blessing. No matter what, Mom is always there for me. I continue to have the opportunity to watch children become readers and writers. I’ve now worked at the same school for seventeen years. I still love to read and write. I still love a big dish of macaroni and cheese and a tall glass of iced tea. Watching NASCAR races on a Sunday afternoon is still one of my favorite things to do.

600 posts. I still cannot wrap my head around this number. But, I am so thankful that I discovered the Slice of Life challenge and that it’s become a part of my life. I can’t wait to see what the next 600 posts bring!

Leave a comment