Photographs Tell Stories #sol23

A group of students worked on a writing activity today that involved this photograph. This is one of many photographs that we’ve captured on the trail camera that we set at the far edge of our backyard.

It was interesting, first, to see their reactions to the photograph. One fifth grader was horrified by the picture and his sentences focused on that reaction. Another fifth grader, who loves the outdoors and hunting, couldn’t write fast enough. Side note: this student also loves to keep up with what my husband does during hunting season and on Fridays would tell me to wish him good luck for Saturday. Two other students were game to write about the photograph, even though they’re not into hunting and the outdoors.

I love using photographs as a part of my writing instruction and I always learn a lot about my students. It’s also a nice way to pull in things that reflect their different interests. This photograph represented something that I knew B was interested in and the next photograph that I choose will reflect another student. I can’t wait to see what they create in response to the next photograph!

2 thoughts on “Photographs Tell Stories #sol23

  1. Erica J

    I love the picture you have included — it makes me want to incorporate pictures more. I’d be curious to read what they wrote or what you would write for this image. It does look pretty horrific.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Darin Johnston

    First, I love the picture! That’s one curious deer!! LOL!

    Now, I’d love to see what the kids wrote, both those who are hunters and non-hunters. Perspective is so much and it would be interesting to compare/contrast those perspectives and their writing!

    Thanks for sharing the slice (and the photo!).

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a comment