Sometimes when I write… #sol18

img_0372-2

I needed some inspiration today, so I turned to one of my favorite books, Kate Messner’s 59 Reasons To Write.  I stopped at Lesson 48 on page 161-161, which provides a prompt about reflecting on our personal processes when writing.  I decided to repeat the phrase “sometimes when I write” instead of just using that phrase at the beginning of my piece of writing.

Sometimes when I write, I question the words on the page and don’t think that they are good enough.  I’ll delete or cross-out words, sentences, paragraphs, and even whole pages.

Sometimes when I write, it’s easier when I have a specific deadline that’s not negotiable.  If I don’t have some kind of set deadline, I flounder and lose my rhythm.  I’ll put off working on a project, telling myself, “Oh, I’ll work on it tomorrow.”

Sometimes when I write, I prefer to create on a computer or iPad.  Other times, I have to write in my notebook.  There are even times when I write on my phone.  Sometimes, I’ll start something in a notebook and then transfer it to a digital file.  Other times, I’ve discovered that the words flow better when I move from the computer or iPad (or phone) to the notebook.

Sometimes when I write, I get into a rhythm and the ideas and words flow and I wish that I could capture those moments for the days when the words.  Those are the best moments.

9 thoughts on “Sometimes when I write… #sol18

    1. wahooteacher Post author

      This is an amazing book! If you haven’t checked out Kate Messner’s Teachers Write summer program, I highly recommend it (and it’s free). This book developed out of past Teachers Write programs and it’s made such an impact on my writing life.

      Like

      Reply
  1. theapplesinmyorchard

    Thanks for the book recommendation. I’ll have to check it out. I have one question, though – Do you use your ink joy pens to write? I have been wanting to let you know that I bought myself a set a few weeks ago at Sam’s and LOVE them! Just another great idea you passed on! Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. theapplesinmyorchard

        Yes, I remember you writing about how you love them! I thought I would give them a try and am loving them as well! My two teens have both commented on them! (I am hiding them in my backpack unless I am using them! LOL)

        Liked by 1 person

  2. hannanabanana

    I like the creative element of repeating a phrase – it is hard for me sometimes to get more artsy (I am so stuck on not using the same words too many times, from college essays and such). I want to explore this tomorrow! thank you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a comment