Dear Kindle #sol17

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

This week’s post was inspired by a prompt posted during Teachers Write in 2016.  In the prompt, Erica Perl suggested writing a letter to an inanimate object (click here to check out that prompt).  So I thought I’d write a letter to my Kindle since I haven’t had many opportunities to curl up with it in the last few days.

Dear Kindle,

I know that I have been neglecting you.  Believe me, I’ve missed spending time with you! There are so many books that I haven’t had a chance to finish along with several samples that I haven’t gotten around to purchasing.  There you are, though, sitting on the nightstand with a fully charged battery, just waiting patiently for me to open your dusty cover.

However, I am now enjoying my Thanksgiving break and I anticipate many delightful hours of reading with you.  I even stopped by the store earlier this evening and bought an Amazon gift card so that I can add books to your library.  Your battery is charged, I dusted off your cover, and we’re ready to go!

So, Kindle, be prepared for some epic reading marathons.  Be prepared to stay up late.  and get a workout this week.  Be prepared to download all kinds of books, from children’s literature to history and biography to the cozy mysteries that I can’t seem to resist.  Be prepared to collect a lot of fingerprints as I swipe the pages.  Trust me, you’ll be more than ready for me to return to school next Monday!

Love,

Jennifer

2 thoughts on “Dear Kindle #sol17

  1. theapplesinmyorchard

    This is a fun post and one I will have to remember to try for myself. My Nook has not been touched in months! Too much reading to do for grad school. I am wondering about what other “object” I can write a letter to for my post. Glad you’ll have some time to spend with your Kindle. Happy Thanksgiving!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Diane Anderson (newtreemom)

    My Kindle deserves this letter sometimes, too. Except I get almost all my books from my library’s e-collection and free books and magazines from Prime. My Amazon cards buy books for school- I have spent the last year building a collection of books recommended in Ruth Culhsm’s Dream Wakers (Mentor Texts from Latino Culture).

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment