Trying out ideas-#sol17

I am spending a lot of time in waiting rooms today, so I decided to play around with some ideas for slices.  However, I realized that one of my ideas sounded much better in theory than in practice.

I opened a new post in WordPress and decided to try to create a post using only the words that were predicted as I typed. In hindsight, I’m not sure exactly why this sounded like a good idea.  At first, I only took the middle word to create sentences, but after a few tries, I deleted that post.  Then, I chose only the third word that popped up each time, but again this didn’t make much sense.  I decided to give this one more try and I used each word in the order in which they appeared.  While this was a little better in terms of content, it still wasn’t what I wanted.  However, I would never have known this if I hadn’t at least tried.  That’s what I need to remind myself when writing ideas don’t work or when a piece doesn’t turn out how I originally expected.

5 thoughts on “Trying out ideas-#sol17

  1. Elisabeth Ellington

    No writing is ever wasted. I learn something about myself, about my writing, or about my students’ possible challenges and perceptions every time I write. In theory, I really like the idea of writing a post only using the words predicted by Word. But I could imagine that would get old pretty fast!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. bhamteach

    This gives me an idea…I will put words in a jar that I find of interest throughout the week. At the end of the week, I will draw out several words and see where it takes me. Worth a try, right?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. elsie

    The problem with using the words predicted, they often aren’t very descriptive. I don’t think they’ve ever studied the trait of word choice. But at least it kept you occupied while waiting.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

