The gas tank #sol16

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

I am horrible about waiting until the gas light flashes on my car’s dashboard before filling the gas tank, particularly since my new car shows me how many more miles I can travel.  For example, even though the gas gauge registered less than one-quarter of a tank of gas yesterday, I saw that I could still travel about 80 miles.  Based on that information, I didn’t stop at a gas station, even though there’s one only a mile from my house.  This morning, I jumped in the car to run errands, and again, although the gas gauge was flirting with “empty,” I continued to cruise on by at least three different gas stations.  Finally,  when I started home at the end of the afternoon, a message flashed on my dashboard and on the Chevrolet MyLink screen informing me of the car’s low fuel level.  The MyLink screen even asked if I wanted to access a list of nearby gas stations.  As a result, I figured that I’d better take the time to stop and get gas.  So, I turned into the nearest gas station and proceeded to fill up the tank.  As I stood beside my car, watching the numbers on the pump spin, I wondered why I always wait to do this.  I mean, it’s not like this is the first time (or even the second time) that I’ve done this and it’s not like a trip to the gas station is some awful, negative experience (depending on the price of gas).  What’s the deal? Is it just because it’s easier to put off those things that seem so simple? Or, have I just gotten so spoiled by the information provided by my car? I mean, with the push of a button, I know a lot about how my car is functioning.  In addition to the features available in the car, I also have the myChevrolet app on my iPhone.  With this app, I can see where my car is currently located, tire pressure, status of the life of the oil, fuel efficiency, and any recalls.  The app also tells me how many gallons of gas are in my tank and how far that will take me.  Do I simply have too much information at my fingertips? Have I been lulled into complacency so that when I pull up this information, it doesn’t really sink in until a specific message flashes that lets me know that it really is crunch time?

Maybe it’s not about the access to technology at all and I just like to procrastinate.  Maybe there are so many other things that I’d rather think about and do (like which book am I going to read next and the lessons I’m planning for the new semester and when my friends and I are going to meet for dinner) that paying attention to that gas gauge just isn’t high on my list of priorities.  Maybe I’m just overthinking this situation as I wait for the gas pump to click off.  I do suspect, though, that this same experience will probably happen again next week when my car has to remind me that yes, it’s time for a fill-up again.

6 thoughts on “The gas tank #sol16

  1. Kendra Limback

    I love this. I am curious about any connections you have to farm families? I have the complete opposite reaction to gas stations, and I can trace that right back to my farm upbringing. If you were in town, you filled up. Now that I’m always in town, that’s not necessary. But I can’t shake the “below half a tank” mentality. This is a great slice. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    Reply
  2. carwilc

    Your car sounds way, way, way fancy, that it has all those apps that tell you what’s going on! Your slice made laugh, though, because even though my car doesn’t do all those things, I still wait as long as I can to get gas. I once had a boss that told me she got gas every Saturday, whether her car was almost empty or almost full. A totally novel idea to me! So here is the question– have you ever run out of gas?

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

