Saying Goodbye to a Student #sol16

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

I had a post nearly finished for today’s slice of life, but that post will have to wait until another day.  I had to say goodbye to a student this afternoon, and while I’m glad that I was able to say goodbye, I realized how much I am going to miss working with this child.  This student came to us a little over a year ago and watching him grow as a learner has been one of the most amazing experiences of my career.  C made a significant amount of progress over the past year.  However, I also enjoyed working with him because he is just one of those kids that you enjoy being around.  He is the student who asks you about your day and on Fridays, would say, “Have a good weekend!”

So, tomorrow, at 12:00, C won’t enter my classroom with a smile and cheery “Hello.”  While my classroom will be different now, I am thankful for the opportunity to have had C as a student and I wish him all the best at his new school!

6 thoughts on “Saying Goodbye to a Student #sol16

  1. Fran Haley

    These are the bittersweet moments of teaching, indeed, seeing a bright spot in our days move on. We have the students’ presence for such a little while and the memory of them for always. Wishing your student success wherever he goes, and peace to you!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Ramona

    I love Fran’s words – their “presence for such a little while and the memory of them for always.” It’s one of the best and worst parts of teaching. Glad this little guy was around to brighten your days. He’ll continue to spread his sunshine in his new home and with a new group of classmates and teacher.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

