The hardest part? #sol16

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

The final draft of my dissertation is due to all of my committee members tomorrow, so I’m making final edits, double-checking tables and figures, and several other last-minute details.  This entire process has been grueling, to say the least.  However, I discovered that one of the most challenging parts of the process involves writing the dedication and acknowledgment pages.  I assumed that this would be the easiest part of the process, but as I sit here at my computer, the blinking cursor flashing on a blank page proves otherwise.  I know that I want to dedicate the project to my parents and grandparents, who have supported me in everything that I’ve ever done and who encouraged me never to give up on my dreams and ambitions.  But when I try to write the actual dedication, my fingers seem to freeze on the keyboard.  So, I started thinking about the acknowledgments page instead. There are so many people who I want to include, but again, the words elude me. How do I adequately thank the people who stood by me and encouraged me? I don’t know that there are enough words to thank my Mom for everything that she’s done for me, from her words of encouragement, to reading every draft of each chapter (multiple times), to the cards (and cookies and chocolate), to knowing when I just needed a hug.  How do I thank my friends, colleagues, and professors who have supported me through each step in the process? I just don’t know if I have the best words, but I am so thankful for everyone who was a part of this process.  Maybe I just need to sit down and write and let the words flow without critiquing them or second-guessing them.  I think it’s time to turn off the screen and write without looking at that blinking cursor!

3 thoughts on “The hardest part? #sol16

  1. elsie

    This writing comes from the heart, not facts and figures. You want to make it truly meaningful, so that’s why it’s so hard. Just write the worst dedication and acknowledgements possible, then go back and revise. You can do it! Congratulations on reaching this milestone in your career!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Ramona

    Congrats on being almost done with this draft of your dissertation. What an accomplishment! I hope writing about your dedication and acknowledgment pages led you to finish this last part and hopefully made it easier than expected. You go, girl!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

