Sometimes you’ve got to stop what you’re doing and read a children’s book #sol15

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Over the past few weeks, I have been preparing for the comprehensive exam for my doctoral program.  I’ve been reading and re-reading and reviewing pages and pages of material, and although I am more than a little stressed about this process, I have enjoyed revisiting some classic readings on literacy.  However, last night, I spent a couple of hours reading articles on emergent literacy frameworks and felt as though my brain was about to explode.  Thankfully, the Terrible Two (a.k.a. Miles and Niles) came to the rescue!

I recently obtained an ARC of the new Terrible Two book, The Terrible Two Get Worse, through NetGalley.  I loved the first Terrible Two book, so I couldn’t wait to read about the further adventures of Miles and Niles.  (If you’re not familiar with The Terrible Two by Mac Barnett and Jory John, you need to read this book and then immediately preorder The Terrible Two Get Worse.  It will be available for purchase in January.).  As I began reading, I laughed out loud at Miles and Niles’s antics and my stress quickly begin to fade as I became absorbed in the plans to thwart Principal Barkin.  I couldn’t turn the digital pages fast enough and before I knew it, I’d clicked on the last page.  I leaned back in my recliner with that feeling you get after getting lost in a wonderful book. Reading The Terrible Two provided the perfect escape and I felt ready to resume my studies.  Had I not stopped for my book break, I don’t think that I would have made much progress.  So, in the midst of stress and worry, just stop what you’re doing and get lost in a children’s book. I guarantee that at least for a short time, everything else will disappear!

3 thoughts on “Sometimes you’ve got to stop what you’re doing and read a children’s book #sol15

  1. elsie

    A perfect way to reset the brain for heavy thinking. Good luck on your exam! BTW, I got an ARC for The Terrible Two Gets Worse (at ILA), plus Mac signed it. Haven’t read it yet, but will move it to the top of the pile.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Kathleen Neagle Sokolowski

    I can’t wait to read this book! I read The Terrible Two aloud to my third grade class and I think I loved it even more than they did! (“Somewhere in the distance, a cow mooed.”) Good luck with your exam! Congrats on such a great achievement.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

