Sitting in the drive-thru lane #sol15

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

This morning, I stopped by McDonald’s to get an iced tea.  I’m not a coffee drinker, but am addicted to iced tea.  I always seem to have a cup of tea on hand and before heading to school this morning, I needed my caffeine fix.

The line in the drive-thru at my local McDonald’s often moves slowly and usually there is a long line, so I frequently use the time to either read or write on my phone.  I have the Kindle and WordPress apps on my phone, so catching up on either task is easy.  Usually, I get a nice chunk of “edge” reading or writing done while waiting in line.  As the line moves, I put the phone down and advance forward.  I’ve never had a problem doing this.

I placed my order, picked up my phone, and started scrolling through a book as I waited.  When I finally had the opportunity to creep forward towards the window, I slipped the phone in its holder and moved up to pay the person at the first window.  Then, I grabbed my phone again and continued reading.  Well, I got swept up into the story and kind of stopped paying attention to my surroundings.  (I think) Several minutes passed by.  I don’t know what finally caught my attention (maybe it was the worker hanging out of the second window motioning at me), but I finally remembered where I was and what I was doing.  I could feel my face turning red as I returned my phone to its holder and pulled up to the window.  I apologized to the woman working the window as I reached out for my cup of tea and thankfully she seemed not to mind my lapse in attention.  As I pulled out of the drive-thru lane, I considered getting my iced tea fix somewhere else for a few days, but then realized that there could have been worse reasons for holding up the line.  At least I was reading!

 

2 thoughts on “Sitting in the drive-thru lane #sol15

Leave a Reply

