Clothing challenges-#sol15

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

I am not someone who plans what to wear the night before.  I tend to fly by the seat of my pants when it comes to choosing outfits.  Additionally, there is little deviation in my wardrobe, so getting dressed in the morning is usually not a problem.  This morning, however, was different.  This morning, I was in a bit of a hurry.  I wanted to get to school early to work on several projects and I also planned to stop for a breakfast biscuit on my way to school (this was such a priority!).  This morning, I reached into my closet and grabbed a pair of capris and a black shirt and dressed quickly, never even turning on the bedroom light.  However, I really should have taken a few extra minutes to turn on that light and look in the mirror before leaving my house:)

When I got to school (with biscuit in hand), I started my computer and spread papers out on my table.  In between bites, I organized materials for the day and fine-tuned a couple of activities that I had planned.  I worked for at least fifteen minutes when I happened to glance down.  You know how cartoon characters are shown with their eyes popping out when they see something? Well, that’s what my eyes did when I looked down at my capris.  They were blue.  I shook my head, put my biscuit down, and looked down again.  They were still blue.  They weren’t supposed to be blue.  They were supposed to be black, just like the black and white shirt that I wore.  I thought that I had grabbed one of my many pairs of black capris, but in reality, I had on my one (one!!!) pair of navy capris—the pair of capris that I rarely wear and are usually not in an accessible area of my closet.  When I looked at the combination of colors, the first thing that occurred to me was that I looked like a big bruise.  Now I know that people do mix black and blue and it often looks great.  I wasn’t that lucky.  My black and blue clothes provided a pretty horrible mix.  I’ve seen toddlers dressing themselves picking out better combinations of colors!

I looked at the clock, but it was 7:15 and I knew that I didn’t have time to go home and change.  I  quickly calculated that I needed at least twenty minutes round trip with an additional five to ten minutes to get in my house and change.  We have to be in our classrooms by 7:35, so changing wasn’t an option.  I was just going to have to walk around all day like this.

Thankfully, once I started teaching, I forgot about the colors of my clothes and became engrossed in my lessons.  The day flew by as I worked with my kids and enjoyed getting back into our regular routine after a week of screenings.  I didn’t think about my clothes again until I headed out to my car and looked down when I hopped into the driver’s seat.  I realized that while it was embarrassing to look as though I had a complete lack of fashion sense, I know that this experience could have been worse.  Friends have since shared stories of wearing two different shoes or a shirt that was inside-out (now that would have really been noticeable!).  I’ve heard stories about wearing jeans with the strip identifying the size still attached to the front and I realized that we’ve all had similar things happen. The best thing we can do is laugh at ourselves and then keep on going.  Yes, I was embarrassed, but in hindsight, it really wasn’t a big deal.  I was able to go on with my day, which was pretty successful.  The world didn’t come to a screeching halt just because my colors were obnoxious.

One thought on “Clothing challenges-#sol15

Leave a Reply

