Car shopping #sol15

image

My Chevy TrailBlazer is twelve years old and has over 210,000 miles on the odometer.  It has made trips up and down the East Coast from Pennsylvania to Florida.  It has carried me through years of grad classes and conferences and shopping trips.  Every day, my TrailBlazer ferries me to and from school, nimbly handling the curvy rural road.  It’s been the perfect vehicle for me over the years!

However, I know that it’s time to think about getting a new car, although I am having a hard time imagining driving anything else.  I had hoped that my TrailBlazer would last until the end of my doctoral program, but I’m starting to doubt that will happen.  So many little things are requiring extra maintenance and the costs for those repairs are increasing.  I’ve gotten to know the folks at the repair shop on a first name basis and I think that I partially financed the recent renovation of that shop.  I’ve been exploring my options, but can’t seem to decide what I want to purchase.  I know that I spend a lot of time traveling and I’m pretty picky.  I’ve scoured car lots and the Internet, but haven’t been able to make a decision. other than I know that I want an SUV/CUV.  Now, whenever I’m out driving, I start scrutinizing vehicles.  I like the Nissan Rogue, but Chevy’s Equinox is also a possibility.  I’ve checked out a couple of Toyotas.  I once rented a Ford Escape to get home from the airport and I liked it, too.  There are just too many choices and I am waffling. When I bought the TrailBlazer twelve years ago, I knew exactly what I wanted.  All I had to do was go to the dealership, sign the papers and drive that SUV home.

So, now I’ve started taking notes to compare the different vehicles and I hope that the physical act of getting things down onto paper provide some clarity as I compare prices, features, gas mileage, etc. Writing things down usually brings about clarity for me, so I’m hoping that soon I’ll make a choice and that my TrailBlazer will hang on for a little while longer until I’m able to make a decision!

2 thoughts on “Car shopping #sol15

  1. elsie

    I have read your post to my car obsessed husband to ask his advice, so here we go: don’t go with the Nissan, it has transmission issues. The Ford does not have good reliability and customer satisfaction is low. Our neighbor has an Equinox for a company car, this is his third one. He loves them for comfort and it has been very reliable. He uses it more for personal driving over his BMW. Toyota will have a stiff ride. They are very popular therefore dealers won’t give a good deal and they may be harder to find. Look at Mazda CX-5 and Subaru Forester. My husband likes to ask mechanics who work on his cars what they drive or suggest a car that doesn’t need a lot of repairs. Unfortunately at this time of year our car lots don’t have a lot of cars because of the new model change. Also, Toyota and Chevrolet are doing a change to the cars you would look at. Good luck on your search!

    Like

    Reply
    1. wahooteacher Post author

      Thank you (and your husband) for the great advice! I appreciate it so much and it’s helped me so much as I narrow down all these choices! I found an Equinox that I like at a dealership in a nearby town and I hope to make it down there in the next day or two to check it out:)

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

