Airport watching #sol15

  
I’m sitting at the airport in Atlanta trying to write today’s post for SOL15.  I’m on my way home from an amazing experience at ILA15.  I wanted to writeabout the conference in today’s post, but I’m still reflecting and considering all that I learned and experienced.  I don’t think that post has percolated enough in my brain and just needs a little more time.

My next thought was to write about people-watching at the airports while waiting for each of my flights.  There was a girl in St. Louis who sat in the floor at our gate and applied her makeup.  Now, she wasn’t just applying lipstick or eyeshadow-it appeared as though she was completely constructing her face from scratch.  I had a hard time not staring because this is not something that I would be able to do.  I have a hard enough time applying lipstick when looking in a large mirror that’s only inches from my face.

Then, there was a precious toddler who must have just been starting to walk.  Holding onto first Mom’s and later Dad’s hands, he explored the area around the gate.  He was as fascinated by the girl with the makeup as I was! His giggles as he walked around put a smile on my face.

I also noticed the glazed doughnut that another passenger was eating for breakfast and my stomach rumbled.  I hope that I didn’t stare too much but that doughnut looked really good, especially since I hadn’t had time for breakfast.  I needed to redirect my attention.  I had downloaded a variety of books on my iPad, so I tried to distract myself from thinking about glazed doughnuts by digging into a book.  I dove into a book about Abigail Adams and her sisters, which is fascinating, but thoughts of doughnuts    still danced in the back of my mind.

Now, as I sit through a lengthy lay-over in Atlanta, my thoughts have returned again to food and what’s for lunch.  There’s a BBQ place near my gate and I have  a feeling that BBQ is in my future.  Mmm-mmm!

3 thoughts on “Airport watching #sol15

  1. Mandy Robek

    I love how you showed us just how ideas can bubble over and slices become collections of moments. Maybe one of these will turn into something bigger or a spark for a something different. Safe travels.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Amy Rudd

    I could not believe how big and busy the Atlanta airport is! We ate at PF Changs when we were there on a lay-over. Airport watching is very interesting-great that you captured all the details around you-the glazed doughnut sounds yummy.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

