#bookaday #sol15


Last summer was the first year that I really got involved with #bookaday.  I loved reading so many fabulous children’s books and connecting with the other enthusiastic participants.  If you’re not familiar with #bookaday, you can check out Donalyn Miller’s blog for more information.

I learned so much from my participation in #bookaday.  This experience helped me grow as a teacher because I was exposed to a variety of books that I then shared with students over the course of the past year.  For the first time, I explored graphic novels.  I was introduced to authors such as Lynda Mullaly Hunt and Linda Urban.  I laughed and I cried over so many books that I might not have read had it not been for #bookaday.

I’ve been a little slower with #bookaday this summer, though.  While I’ve read some fabulous books (The Terrible Two, Ranger in Time #2, and The Island of Dr. Libris, just to name a few), I haven’t read as many as I had by this time last year.  I reminded myself that I’ve been involved in several projects that include time revising my presentation for ILA and a project for my reading council.  I’ve also been distracted by some books that are not education-related.  I’m currently reading Cokie Roberts’ Capital Dames: The Civil War and the Women of Washington, 1848-1868 and I have Mrs. Lincoln and Mrs. Keckly in my queue.  I’m a former history major and still enjoy reading books in that area.  However, I don’t want to miss out on expanding my kid lit repertoire.  As I reflect, though, I realize that this is not a bad a dilemma to have.  Either way I go, I’m going to have some excellent reading experiences!

11 thoughts on “#bookaday #sol15

  1. erinbakerreadwrite

    I haven’t participated in this challenge yet. It sounds fun. Did you read One for the Murphys? Love that book. And Rain Reign. Another amazing book. Maybe next year I will have to try this challenge on…

    Like

    Reply
  2. ReadWriteThruLife

    I want to participate in #Bookaday but honestly I have no idea how you fit all those titles in. I am reading many of the books you’ve mentioned but it takes me more than a day. How do you do it??

    Like

    Reply
    1. wahooteacher Post author

      I do a lot of late night reading during the summer. I also help take care of my grandfather and read when he naps. I also mix in picture books. I hope that you’ll share your reading with the hashtag even if takes more than a day😊I’m always looking for recommendations!

      Like

      Reply
  3. newtreemom

    I read all the time, but summer does have the advantage of more time for reading. Titles so far this summer have included Anne Tyler’s The Beginner’s Goodbye, The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, Kristin Hannah’s Firefly Lane, Markus Zusak’s I Am the Messenger, Someone Else’s Love Story by Joshilyn Jackson, and two by Jacqueline Woodson- Feathers and Locomotion (next, Brown Girl Dreaming). I read several poems in Caroline Kennedy’s anthology, She Walks in Beauty- her comments about the stages of a woman’s life and the poems she chose to represent each one are interesting. On pre-order from Amazon, I have the new Jan Karon-another novel in the Mitford series. And of course, I always have some professional books going, too- right now, it’s Jennifer Serravallo’s Reading Strategies Book. I just got Collaboration and Co-Teaching: Strategies for English Learners by Honigsfeld and Dove at a workshop today. Kate Messner’s 59 Reasons to Write is on its way from Amazon.(Also just read Ranger in Time #1) Wow! I didn’t realize how much I have read til I started writing it all down.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Lisa

    I did that last year too, but it took me more than one day for each book (busy with little kids!) I brought home a stack of 10 MG books for this summer so I can hopefully grow my repertoire of books to recommend to my class from the school library. I find MG books don’t really draw me in the way adult or YA books do. I kind of have to make myself read them usually. There are some awesome exceptions though, and I discovered a bunch through #bookaday!

    Like

    Reply
  5. elsie

    Wide and continuous reading is just what teachers need to do so they can talk to students about books. I give a standing ovation for any teacher who tackles this challenge. I just finished Circus Mirandus, it was great!
    What’s your session at ILA? I will be at the conference too (not presenting :-))

    Like

    Reply
    1. wahooteacher Post author

      Circus Mirandus is on my must-read list and I hope to get to it soon. I hope to see you at ILA😊
      I’m presenting on Saturday at 3-“Engaging the Internet: Tools to Support Literacy Instruction and Parent Involvement.”

      Like

      Reply
  6. Erika Victor

    I love #bookaday too- great idea for a slice. I find that reading in any spare minute adds up- just got an ARC of Crenshaw at nErDcamp and that is my #bookaday today:)

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

