What Kind of Writer Am I? #sol15

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

After reading blog posts by Stacey Shubitz and Michelle Haseltine, I was encouraged to think about what kind of writer I am.  You can check out Stacey’s post at https://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com/2015/05/22/kindofwriter/ and Michelle’s post at http://1gratefulteacher.blogspot.com/2015/05/what-kind-of-writer-am-i.html

What kind of writer am I?

I’m a writer who is a teacher and a graduate student.  As a result, I’m trying to find the balance in my writing life between the personal and the professional (Ruth Ayres wrote a great post that addresses this at http://www.ruthayreswrites.com/2015/05/celebrate-this-week-lxxxiv-84.html), which is not always easy.

I’m a writer who flips back and forth between writing with paper and pen and writing on the computer (or iPad or iPhone).  Sometimes, it just feels right to scribe my ideas into a blank book, while other times, my writing flows more with a digital tool.  Sometimes, it just depends on what’s available, particularly if I’m sitting in line somewhere and I have the urge to write.

I’m a writer who is picky about pens and papers.  My pen has to be just right and I can’t pick up a random pen and expect it to meet my writing needs.  Sometimes I like bold colors, while other times I stick with either black or blue ink.  When I’m composing on a computer or tablet, I often change the font.  I might select Comic Sans, Curlz MT, American Typewriter, Lucida Handwriting, Monotype Corsiva, or Noteworthy.

I’m a writer who revises and edits as I go along.  Sometimes this is a good thing, but sometimes it can also be bad because it’s so easy to get swept away with making changes instead of moving forward with a piece of writing.  Sometimes, the Track Changes feature works for me, but there are also times when I get overwhelmed by that tool.  It just depends on what I’m trying to do.

I’m a writer who sometimes writes at the desk in my office at home.  Other times, I’ll spread my things out on the kitchen table or stretch out in the den floor.  Sometimes, I write while in line at McDonald’s or CVS or any other drive-through.  There have been times when I’ve had to dictate ideas into my smartphone (thanks, Siri!).  Sometimes, I need quiet, but other times, I can write with all of the noise that comes from daily life.

I’m a writer who has learned to celebrate not just the final product, but also to celebrate the process that leads to that final product.  I’ve realized that I need to celebrate the small accomplishments as well as the bigger ones.

I’m a writer who spent a long time avoiding writing because of a bad experience with a class.  With the help of #TeachersWrite and #SOL15, as well as realizing that to teach writing I actually have to be a writer, I have put my fears aside and to embrace my writing life.

I’m a writer who is thankful for this community and all of the support and encouragement that has been given.  This community of writers has enriched my life.  I’m so glad that I stumbled onto #sol15!

5 thoughts on “What Kind of Writer Am I? #sol15

  1. Lisa Keeler

    Like you, I found Michelle’s and Stacey’s posts thought provoking. It is such a great question to ask and answer. We share the habit of revising as we write and like you I am not sure it is a good thing.

    Like

    Reply
  2. elsie

    That is a question I’ve pondered too. It’s funny that the pen matters. I totally get that. There is something about the way it glides across the paper. Write on!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

