Celebrating the end of a semester

IMG_3131

I’m a little late in posting this week, but after missing last week, I couldn’t miss another opportunity to celebrate.  I am so thankful to Ruth Ayres for hosting this weekly celebration at ruthayreswrites.com!

My celebration this week focuses on the completion of my stats class.  Last Sunday, I turned in my final project and Monday evening I embarked on the final exam, which I finally finished after a marathon six hours in front of my laptop on Saturday.  While I’m celebrating completing this last requirement for the semester, I’m also celebrating the change that I experienced over the course of the past fourteen weeks.  You see, I have always struggled with anything math-related and over time, that became a mantra that I allowed myself to use.  I gave myself permission not to do well and it has taken me a long time to realize that I was hiding behind that excuse.  It was so easy to tell myself that math was just not my thing and to let myself off the hook.

This semester taught me a lot about tenacity and not giving up, even when faced with something so far out of my comfort zone that I’d need a GPS to find it again.  The past fourteen weeks have been intense, but instead of giving up or telling myself that math’s just not my thing, I made a conscious decision to change my mindset.  I wanted to give this class everything I had and this meant that I could not going to make excuses or rely on previous weaknesses.  I had to practice what I preach to my students about effort and mindset.

So I spent hours reviewing notes, listening to the lectures that I recorded with my Smartpen, watching YouTube videos on the different statistical methods presented throughout the semester, and running analyses of data.  Hours were devoted to homework assignments and a final project.  When I was tempted to give up, I fought back.  When things didn’t make sense, I worked hard. I asked questions.  When I felt discouraged, I dug my heels in and kept going. My family gave me pep talks and slowly, but surely, things began to make sense.

So today I celebrate the expansion of my comfort zone.  I celebrate doing my best even when the going got tough.  While I may not make an A in the class, I know that I gave it everything I had (although I do need that B in order to get credit!).  I didn’t give up.  I didn’t make excuses.  I completed this semester with more than just an increased knowledge of statistical techniques.  I realized that I can succeed…it just requires a lot of effort and a whole different mindset.

Now, I’m off to curl up with a book and enjoy this amazing feeling of accomplishment!

2 thoughts on “Celebrating the end of a semester

  1. Linda Baie

    I can hear that you are so proud of yourself, and the changes you made, & I think you should be proud! I hope you share this with your students. It’s a perfect time to model for them! I admire that you had this to do in addition to teaching, too. Wow! Congratulations!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

